Visit our new website
You are currently viewing the old West Mercia Police website where you can continue to use the Community Message Service (CMS). Click the link to return to our new site
Visit our new website
Search Site

Leave page quickly

About West Mercia Police

Our geography

West Mercia Police is the fourth largest geographic police area in England and Wales. Our communities cover three counties: Herefordshire, Shropshire (which includes Telford and Wrekin) and Worcestershire with more than 1.2 million people living in the areas we serve.

Whilst many of our communities are rural, the urban areas we police include Hereford, Kidderminster, Redditch, Shrewsbury, Telford and Worcester.

Our history

The force was formed on 1 October 1967, by the merger of four forces; Worcestershire Constabulary, Worcester City Police, Herefordshire Constabulary and Shropshire Constabulary and in May 2009 we changed our name from West Mercia Constabulary to West Mercia Police.